français

 

 

The Early Years

Born in 1851 in Fegersheim, near Strasbourg, Nathan Wildenstein decided to leave his native Alsace when the Franco-Prussian War broke out in 1870. Having settled near Paris, he was working in a tailor's shop when a client asked him to negotiate the sale of several paintings. Though he knew nothing about painting, Nathan accepted. Without further ado, he took himself to the Louvre, and spent ten days exploring it. "These celestial ten days" were a revelation for him, one that would determine his destiny. He successfully sold the paintings that had been confided to him, then bought a Boucher, a Quentin de La Tour: an art dealer was born. In Paris, he opened his first "shop" on the Rue Laffitte, afterwards moving to the Rue du Faubourg-Saint-Honoré in the 8th arrondissement, before settling definitively at 57, Rue La Boétie. His taste was for the 18th century masters like Watteau, Lancret, Nattier, Fragonard, and Houdon that collectors the world over would soon rediscover through him.


Art Publications

Nathan died in 1934. His son Georges (1892-1963) succeeded him. Erudite, with wide-ranging curiosity, he was drawn not only to the Impressionists, but also to contemporary painters like Picasso. As talented a dealer as he was an administrator, he was also an art critic fascinated by research: he organized exhibitions, published a first collection of catalogues raisonnés devoted to 18th century painters and sculptors and was director of the publications Beaux-Arts and Gazette des Beaux-Arts. Convinced that a business dealing in art must be based on rigorous knowledge, Georges Wildenstein assembled a collection of documents composed of publications, archival materials and photographs, and in so doing, set a decisive course for what would become in later years the Wildenstein Institute, for it is this body of documents that is at the origin of the library, founded in 1918.


Research

Upon Georges' death, Daniel Wildenstein (1917-2001) carried on the work that his father had started. Pursuing the policy of judicious acquisition of documentary materials, he enlarged the library, which he structured thematically. He made contributions to the published catalogues raisonnés and undertook the revision and re-edition of earlier publications, while simultaneously establishing new catalogues raisonnés, in particular one on Claude Monet which demanded over forty years of research. By organizing colloquia and exhibitions, and by his contributions to the enhancement of museums, Daniel Wildenstein substantially promoted the influence of French art. He provided support—scholarly, moral and financial—to researchers and art historians, encouraging (among other projects) the work undertaken by Robert Fernier on Gustave Courbet and that by Marie Berhaut on Gustave Caillebotte. In 1971, this enlightened and perspicacious art dealer was elected to the Académie des Beaux-Arts at the Institut de France.


A View of the Future

Following his example, his sons ensured that activities in the areas of documentation, research and publication would continue. Since the death of his brother Alec (1940-2008), author of the catalogue raisonné of Odilon Redon, Guy Wildenstein, seconded by the fifth generation, presides over the Wildenstein Institute and is committed to a policy of patronage of the arts. Author of the catalogue raisonné of Albert Marquet, he heads research teams and is the driving force behind the consultative committees engaged in the elaboration of critical catalogues, including the ambitious, large-scale project on Renoir. His on-going concern is to make the wealth of resources in the library—amassed over a century—accessible to historians, collectors and others active in the art market, in particular by employing new technologies to modernize that access.

english

 

 

Les débuts

Né en 1851 à Fegersheim, près de Strasbourg, Nathan Wildenstein décide de quitter son Alsace natale quand éclate en 1870 le conflit franco-prussien. Installé en région parisienne, il est employé chez un tailleur lorsqu’une cliente lui demande de négocier quelques tableaux. Nathan accepte bien qu’il n’y connaisse rien en peinture. Sans attendre, il se rend au musée du Louvre qu’il découvre pendant dix jours. « Cette décade céleste » est une révélation qui va décider de son destin. Il réussit à vendre les tableaux confiés, puis achète un Boucher, un Quentin de La Tour … le marchand d’art est né. À Paris, il ouvre sa première « boutique » rue Laffitte, choisit ensuite le VIIIe arrondissement, rue du Faubourg-Saint-Honoré avant de s’installer 57, rue La Boétie. Son goût le porte vers les maîtres du XVIIIe siècle : Watteau, Lancret, Nattier, Fragonard, Houdon qu’il fait redécouvrir aux collectionneurs du monde entier.


L’édition d’art

Nathan meurt en 1934. Son fils Georges (1892-1963) lui succède. Homme érudit à l’esprit curieux, il s’intéresse aux peintres impressionnistes, mais aussi contemporains tel Picasso. Marchand autant qu’homme de cabinet, critique d’art passionné par la recherche, il organise des expositions, publie une première collection de catalogues raisonnés consacrés aux peintres et sculpteurs du XVIIIe siècle, dirige les revues Beaux-Arts et Gazette des Beaux-Arts. Convaincu que le commerce des œuvres doit s’appuyer sur une connaissance rigoureuse de l’art, Georges Wildenstein rassemble un fonds documentaire composé d’ouvrages, d’archives, de photographies, donnant ainsi une impulsion décisive à ce qui deviendra des années plus tard le Wildenstein Institute. Cet ensemble est à l’origine de la bibliothèque, créée dès 1918.


La recherche

Daniel Wildenstein (1917-2001) reprend le flambeau à la disparition de son père. Poursuivant la politique pertinente d’achats et d’acquisitions de matériaux documentaires, il développe la bibliothèque qu’il structure en sections thématiques. À son tour, il contribue à la publication des catalogues raisonnés, assure les rééditions et les mises à jour des anciennes parutions tout en menant pendant plus de quarante années ses recherches sur Claude Monet. Par l’organisation de colloques et d’expositions, par ses contributions à l’enrichissement des musées, Daniel Wildenstein concourt au rayonnement de l’art français. Aux chercheurs et historiens d’art, il apporte une aide intellectuelle, morale ou financière. Ainsi, encourage-t-il, entre autres travaux, ceux menés par Robert Fernier sur Gustave Courbet, ou par Marie Berhaut sur Gustave Caillebotte. En 1971, ce marchand d’art éclairé à l’œil perspicace est élu membre de l’Institut de France, à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts.


Nouvelles perspectives

À son exemple, ses fils ont assuré la continuité dans les domaines de la documentation, de la recherche, de l’édition. Depuis le décès de son frère Alec (1940-2008), auteur du catalogue raisonné d’Odilon Redon, Guy Wildenstein, secondé par la cinquième génération, préside le Wildenstein Institute et s’attache à poursuivre la politique de mécénat. Auteur du catalogue raisonné d’Albert Marquet, il dirige les équipes de recherche, anime les comités, pour l’élaboration des catalogues critiques dont celui consacré à Renoir, entreprise de grande envergure. Il a le souci de rendre accessible aux historiens, aux collectionneurs, aux acteurs du marché de l’art, les richesses de la bibliothèque rassemblées depuis plus d’un siècle, avec pour objectif une modernisation constante grâce aux nouvelles technologies.